Writing My Own Definitions

One Mind at a Time

Recently I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about where my self-image comes from as well as what my core values and beliefs are.  I just listened to Marc Maron interview President Obama, who talked about trying to define himself in different ways as he grew up and dealing with being labeled from many different angles.  That’s what inspired this, though it kind of evolved midway and I’m okay with that.  I want to make it clear that I am writing about my own, personal experiences. I make no claims that I understand completely the experiences of others (though I want to learn more) for I only have empathy and curiosity, not psychic powers.

I have a Hispanic surname thanks to my dad. He grew up in a smallish town in New Mexico- which is actually a state in the US, if you didn’t know. I grew up listening…

View original post 1,286 more words

Leave a Reply

